In Florida auto insurance, if you want to drive legally in your state then you must have an auto insurance at least the state minimum liability requirements. It means you must have a proof of liability insurance when you are driving your car so they can certify that they have an insurance that meets with requirement of their state laws and rules.
In Florida, most of the states requires the minimum coverage for Personal Injury Protection is $10,000 and the minimum coverage for Property Demage Liability is also $10,000.
Florida Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
In Florida auto insurance, it’s an illegal to drive your car or vehicle without having a car insurance. From the time of vehicle registration period, the driver must have a proof of insurance coverage. If you are driving without having a car insurance in Florida, you will be charge for $150 upto $500 for violations.
Florida DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties
Florida auto insurance law state that if driver is found with a Blood Alcohol Concentration of 0.08 will be considered under the influence.
Florida Penalties for DUI First Conviction :
- Fine – $250 to $500
- Community Service – 50 Hours
- Probation – Not more than 1 Year
- Imprisonment – Not more than 6 Months
- Imprisonment with BAL of .08 or higher with a minor in the vehicle, not more than 9 months
- License Revocation – Minimum of 180 days
- DUI School – 12 Hours
Florida Penalties for DUI Second Conviction :
- Fines of $1,000 to $2,000. For BAL of .15% or higher, or a minor in the car, minimum $2,000 to $4,000.
- Jail time of not more than 9 months. A BAL of .15% or higher, or driving with a minor in the car, will require up to 12 months*.
- Vehicle impoundment for 30 days.*
- Driver’s license suspension/revocation
- Not within 5 years: 180 days to 1 year
- Within 5 years: 5 years
Florida cell phone using driving laws
In Florida car insurance, all drivers currently does not have a full ban on using cell phone while driving. However, Florida ban texting while driving your vehicle.
Florida SR-22 Insurance Documents
Drivers are required to keep their insurance documents with them while driving without auto insurance. An SR-22 form may need to be filled for three years that showing proof of financial responsibility.
Alternative Proof of Financial Responsibility
While getting an insurance policy, by insuring yourself, you can satisfy the minimum requirements of the state policy/law. If you become a self-insurer, you will be liable for the minimum required amount of coverage as per insurance company demand.
Documents required for Self-Insurance
- A financial statement that proofs your assets worth at least $40,000. It is also called net worth. You can select your assets in balance sheet list but your home residence should not be included in that list. If you can’t pay out your claim, then they will take it in that case.
- You will have to mention all the vehicles under this certificate including your vehicle brand name, made year that are listed in that balance sheet.